Review: The Goddess Test

Title: The Goddess Test Image

Author: Aimee Carter

Rating: ★★1/2

Provided Synopsis: Every girl who had taken the test has died.

Now it’s Kate’s turn.

It’s always been just Kate and her mom – and her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate’s going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear that her mother won’t live past the fall.

Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld – and if she accepts his bargain, he’ll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests.

Kate is sure he’s crazy – until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she succeeds, she’ll become Henry’s future bride and a goddess.

If she fails…

Review: I minored in Classics at university, so I was very excited to read a story that contained elements of mythology. Don’t get me wrong — there was nothing deep about this book, but it was enjoyable and a quick read.

Henry is God of the Underworld and is on the search for someone to take the place of his wife, Persephone, to be Queen of the Underworld and rule with him. For years he has struggled and is on the verge of giving up when Kate Winters arrives at the town of Eden, Michigan. Her mother is terminally ill, which has led her to live half of a life during the past five years. Rather than be young, Kate has been weighed down with taking care of her mother and trying to prepare for the reality of one day having to say goodbye to her mother when she passes on. So when Kate is offered the opportunity to save a life in return for spending six months with Henry, she takes it. The catch is that during those six months she will be put through a series of tests to determine if she is fit to be Queen of the Underworld. To add further intrigue to the plot is the fact that someone has been killing off all of Kate’s predecessors.

Like I mentioned before, there was nothing deep about this novel. The love story was cute and I entertained myself as I tried to pinpoint certain characters with the gods and goddesses they were to represent. A disappointment was that I was expecting to read about Kate taking some epic tests since mythology is full of characters like Hercules doing amazing feats to prove worthy. But Kate’s tests seemed so small, and none of them were explained to have even been happening until the end. Also, I wish I could say that Kate had a lot of character growth in the story, but the way I see it is that she has traded in her dependence to her mother to be dependent on the life she can have six months in the Underworld. Hopefully she and other characters will be granted more development in the next book of the series. I’d recommend this for people who enjoy mythology and who want a light/quick read.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Goddess Test

  1. I’m adding this to my TBR stack when we go to the library this weekend. I took as many literature classes as I could in college, so anything with a Classical bent is something I know I’ll love. I really enjoyed your review!

      • They’re not YA, but have you read “The Lost Books of the Odyssey” by Zachary Mason or “The Penelopiad” by Margaret Atwood? Those are both two of my absolute favorite “retellings” of The Iliad and The Odyssey.

Leave a Reply

