Review: The Book Thief

19063Title: The Book Thief

Author: Markus Zusak

Rating: ★★★★★

Provided Synopsis: It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will become busier still.

Liesel Meminger is a foster girl living outside of Munich, who scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement.

Review: How can you possibly discuss a book that has come to mean so much to you? You’d think that the words would be able to fall onto the page, detailing every inch of the emotions and beauty that I have discovered. And yet, I find myself incapable. I can only talk about beauty; I can only talk about love; I can only talk about fear and hope. I can only talk about words — words, words, words, words, words. The Book Thief is the story of words and the power they can hold. The Book Thief is about the damage and healing that can be delivered through words. By placing this theme within the time period of Germany during World War II there is such a strong political and social commentary to consider. And I believe that Markus Zusak illustrated what he had to say perfectly in the form of his main character, Liesel, and in a particular chapter in which she reads the sketches left behind to her from a Jewish man named Max.

The Word Shaker.

The Word Shaker, who comes to write that, “I have hated the words and I have loved them, and I hope I have made them right.” Within that sentence there is so much meaning, and I even though I have come to write very little in this review, I hope that I too have used my words right to convey what I mean, feel, and why this book needs to be read by everyone. Words have the power to change the world.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Book Thief

Leave a Reply

