Review: Emerald Green

Title: Emerald Green (Precious Stone Trilogy #3) Image

Author: Kerstin Gier

Rating: ★★

Provided Synopsis: Gwen has a destiny to fulfill, but no one will tell her what it is. She’s only recently learned that she is the Ruby, the final member of the time-traveling Circle of Twelve, and since then nothing has been going right. She suspects the founder of the Circle, Count Saint-German, is up to something nefarious, but nobody will believe her. And she’s just learned that her charming time-traveling partner, Gideon, has probably been using her all along.

Review: Emerald Green provided me with many of the aspects I have really enjoyed about this series, but as the final installment of the trilogy I cannot shake the opinion that it was rushed and under whelmed me. The things I did like include: the time travel as well as the camaraderie shown to Gwyneth from her friends (including the ghost ones she can see and speak to) and select family members as she stitches together all of the puzzle pieces she has accumulated. The characters and their dialogue have always been enjoyable, so it was great to see that strength continue throughout the series.

The problems I had with this book stem from the lack of plot development that occurred in the second installment of the series, Sapphire Blue. Like I said in the review for the mentioned book, there was very little progression towards discovery and knowledge, which in turn made it necessary to do everything in this book. Because of that I don’t believe the author was able to tie things up cleanly; it was far too rushed and the ending under whelmed me. I was actually annoyed when I finished the epilogue because there were still so many questions that had not been answered. It is as if the author tried very hard to make everything convenient, but convenience does not always lend to the makings of a good conclusion when it cannot block the obvious plot holes. For example, if Gwyneth was able to travel back to the past to save her ghost friend, James, then wouldn’t that mean she had altered the future to the point that she would have never seen or known of him at all? That example is not even the greatest of my issues, but I will hold my tongue in order to prevent giving away significant spoilers.

Also, Gwyneth was not my favorite character in this book. Teenage hormones and dramatics took up too much of her time, and while I do think that her and Gideon could have moments of cuteness, their declarations of love to one another were a bit unbelievable and cringe worthy due to instant love.

Leave a Reply

