Review: We Were Liars

16143347Title: We Were Liars

Author: E. Lockhart

Rating: ★★1/2

Provided Synopsis: A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE

Review: Oh man. Not sure how to review this book because I believe readers will be better served to go into this with as little information as possible. But here I go, trying to peak your interest:

A rich family with a private island for summertime habitation. Three daughters of a wealthy patriarch, hungry for what they might inherit. The three, eldest grandchildren and their friend, an outsider of a boy. Love torn apart by greed. Love desperately held together with want. An accident. Amnesia. Lies?

To be honest, I do not believe this group of four teens should be called Liars. Nor do I think there were lies in this book; instead it was a loss of memories and the chase to remember what had occurred. How this book unraveled was interesting. I found myself increasingly desperate to know the truth and ensure that I was not wrong.

The writing was one of the aspects of this book that let me down. I am not able to put my finger on it, but something about it frustrated me. Maybe it was that I felt as if I never really knew the characters? They existed as Cadence described them but never developed beyond initial details. Something more was needed.

Leave a Reply

