DNF Review: Love, Lucy

20911403Title: Love, Lucy

Author: April Lindner

Rating: DNF (Did Not Finish)

Provided Synopsis: While backpacking through Florence, Italy, during the summer before she heads off to college, Lucy Sommersworth finds herself falling in love with the culture, the architecture, the food…and Jesse Palladino, a handsome street musician. After a whirlwind romance, Lucy returns home, determined to move on from her “vacation flirtation.” But just because summer is over doesn’t mean Lucy and Jesse are over, too.

In this coming-of-age romance, April Lindner perfectly captures the highs and lows of a summer love that might just be meant to last beyond the season.

Review: Disappointment is the adjective I would use to describe my experience with Love, Lucy. Obviously, I adored the location of the story — Florence! — and the idea of it, as a teenager on the cusp of her college experience travels to Europe and falls in love. While I had never read A Room With a View, which is what this book is a modern re-telling of, I had seen the movie and was pleased enough with it to believe this tale would work for me. But I was wrong.

Lucy is tortured by the dilemma of leaving behind her dreams of acting in order to go to college for a business degree — as insisted upon by her father. In fact, her father is so insistent that he makes a deal with his daughter to send her on a backpacking trip to Europe if she will no longer act; Lucy goes on to consider this as bargaining away her future. It is apparent that the journey towards self-discovery Lucy will travel on will include finding the strength to stand-up for what she wants. Too bad I took no interest in this dilemma at all.

As for the romance… It bored me. The supposed connection between Lucy and Jesse happened so fast. I could not see or feel the emotions Lucy must have been experiencing in order to fall for him, nor could I detect what he found so special in her. This is one of those instances where it seemed as if romance happened because it must, not because anything is organic or truthful to the characters involved.

(Since I am giving this book a DNF there will be no official rating. But if I were to rate based off what I had read then it would have received one star.)

4 thoughts on “DNF Review: Love, Lucy

  1. I usually dislike it when the romance only happens because the author wants or needs it to happen, but usually when it comes to a summer romance does it need to be something special or just plain attraction and the need for fun? Don’t know the book, but if the author insists on the summer romance flick thing, then maybe the “lack of special” is not even needed. Oh well, I am rambling 🙂 I am going to probably skip the book and read a Florence guide book haha.

    • That is a good point about summer romances, but this one is supposed to follow the lines of “A Room with a View” which means it will continue once Lucy goes home. I just don’t understand how it could be believable to continue when it is so forced.

Leave a Reply

