Review: Everything, Everything

18692431Title: Everything, Everything

Author: Nicola Yoon

Rating: ★★

Provided Synopsis: My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Review: In theory, Everything, Everything should have appealed to me. The premise was unique, as it is about an eighteen year old girl who is allergic to the outside world and is forced to stay inside her home. But the prospect never lived up to what was delivered, and I will tell you why.

First of all, I never connected to Maddy because she did not have any personality for me to touch bases with. To read about her was to become bored, and the introduction of her love interest, Olly, did nothing to help the story because he did not have a personality either and existed as a catalyst to have Maddy finally want more. Instalove is also one of my least favorite things to read about; the book is filled with the two of them IMing each other, miming in windows, and occasional conversations, but it was never enough to ground the relationship to make me feel something. When a romance falls short and is the main motivation to the forward action of the story the end result is not favorable.

Another issue I had with this book — and that I can see readers being divided on — is the ending, and the way it managed to turn things on their heads in a way that diminished everything. Why? Why, why, why did this have to be nothing more than the usual contemporary YA romance already on the market for consumption? Disappointment is the best way I can describe this one.

6 thoughts on “Review: Everything, Everything

  1. I’m sure there are others who didn’t like this one, but yours is the first review that I’ve read. *Gasp* LOL! I can totally see your views on this, but it was the opposite for me. I really love this book. I’m still thinking about it, even after 2.5 months. This is an honest review and it shows that not everyone will like the same book. I love reading both positive and negative reviews. Not that yours is negative, because you’re just stating in a positive way what you didn’t like about it. That goes a long way. Great review!

    • Thank you so much for the comment, Lekeisha! I too love to read reviews from both side of the spectrum, because I believe the discussion and other’s opinions is what makes doing this blogging thing worth it.

      I’ve been thinking about my opinions towards Everything, Everything since I wrote this review last night, and I am beginning to think that the REAL root of the problem is that I do not enjoy YA contemporary romances. I thought this one would be different due to the limitations of her situation, but in the end it turned out to be everything that I had already encountered before.

  2. I have read a few reviews of this book and they are quite similar to yours. Lots of potential but not quite living up to the hype. I wonder how this novel could do more to meet our expectations as readers. The premise of the book sounds really interesting to me. So I might have to give it a try one day. You know how it goes, that to-be-read pile is constantly increasing. Thanks for the review!

    • Really? Most reviews I have encountered have been filled with raves. For me, I needed more of a connection to the main character and her love interest — the romance is what drives the action and without the connection to it things don’t come together for me. Also, that ending… When you do read this, please come talk to me about that ending.

  3. Pingback: Monthly Recap: September and October | cammminbookland

Leave a Reply

