Monthly Recap: September and October 2015

Back when I decided that I was no longer going to write reviews on every book I read, and posted an explanation on this blog as to why, I received an excellent recommendation of how to proceed forward. calliopethebookgoddess suggested that I do recap posts at the end of every month, to allow my followers to know what I had read and to include the little bit of words I have to share. This way, if you do not follow me on Goodreads you can still know what I am immersed in, and in this way the bookish conversation can continue.

Life hit me hard last month, so I was not able to make a Month in Review post for September. Therefore, this one will be incredibly long to include the books I read in September and October. Cheers!

SEPTEMBER:

23014642The Wild Girl by Kate Forsyth – 3.5 out of 5 stars
The true stories collected by the Brothers Grimm have always held a dark undertone, and The Wild Girl did not shy away from that motif. The story of Dortchen Wild and her relationship with Wilhem Grimm was intriguing and beautifully written, and very difficult to read at the same time. If you are on the lookout for a historical fiction account of the Napoleonic Wars in Germany and how they reflected upon the collection of fairy tales then this is for you.

Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel – 3 out of 5 stars
I read the audiobook. And do you know what? This book made me hate King Henry VIII more than I thought was possible. It also made me despise Cromwell, and I do not anticipate feeling any sympathy for him when his demise eventually unfolds in this series; he set this precedence of letting a mad man murder people.
For me, the strongest emotional connection I received from this book came when Anne is arrested along with all of the gentlemen accused of being her lovers. The way the trial and compiling of evidence was done disgusted me, but I was still riveted. The last moments of Queen Anne were the most beautifully composed part of the story.

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon – 2 out of 5 stars

Grounded: The Adventures of Rapunzel by Megan Morrison – 4 out of 5 stars
What a wonderful middle grade book! The world is well constructed. The retelling of fairy tales is well done. And the development of characters is perfect. Grounded entertained me and touched me with it message of love.

23587120When a Scot Ties the Knot by Tessa Dare – 4 out of 5 stars
Remember when I was ridiculously charmed by a story?
“Aye, lass. I believe I do remember that.”

Crocodile on the Sandbank by Elizabeth Peters – 3 out of 5 stars
I’ll continue to read (or should I say listen, since I used the audiobook) this series because I love Amelia’s narrative voice and the setting in Egypt.
What I did not like about this book was the lack of any true plot and mystery, and the continuous revolution around the love life of Evelyn.

The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler – 5 out of 5 stars

Only a Kiss by Mary Balogh – 3 out of 5 stars
Hate-to-love story with a slight smuggling mystery on the side. It was just okay.

The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot – 2.5 out of 5 stars

OCTOBER: 

Marrying Christopher by Michele Paige Holmes – 2 out of 5 stars

The Girl in the Spider’s Web by David Lagercrantz – 4 out of 5 stars

23453112Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari – 3 out of 5 stars
I liked reading about relationships in other cultures, and the reminder to invest in relationships rather than be concerned about quantity.

Princess in the Spotlight by Meg Cabot – 2 out of 5 stars

Princess in Love by Meg Cabot – 3 out of 5 stars

Movie Star by Lizzie Pepper: A Novel by Hilary Liftin – 2.5 out of 5 stars
This is basically a “fictional” version of the notorious marriage and divorce between Tom Cruise and Katie Holmes. The story is the most compelling as you are left to wonder: Is this how it really went down?
For me the most interesting aspect was learning how Lizzie/Katie worked in secret to blindside her husband with divorce papers.
I will warn that the characters are very sterile, so if you are not super into celebrity gossip then the allure of secrets being spilled (because that is the only allure to this story) will be lost on you — therefore I’d advise to read something else!

After You by Jojo Moyes – 1.5 out of 5 stars

Mrs. Roosevelt’s Confidante by Susan Elia MacNeal – 2 out of 5 stars

25657130All American Boys by Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely – 4 out of 5 stars
Such a powerful and timely book about police brutality against people of color in America. The first chapter shook me, as sequences unfolded to what is seen time and time again in the news. I fear that what happened to Rashad and others like him will happen to someone I love every day.

3 thoughts on “Monthly Recap: September and October 2015

  1. Pingback: A Note of Reflection + Top Ten Books of 2015 | cammminbookland

Leave a Reply

