Top Ten Tuesday #6: Most Anticipated Releases for the First Half of 2016

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish.

For a minute, I was tempted to put off another Top Ten Tuesday and resume my participation in this with the coming year. But then I figured I might as well begin as I mean to continue on… So here I am: talking about my Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases for the First Half of 2016!

204432351. The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski – I am so in love with this series, and this world, and the writing, and ARIN AND KESTREL. This is probably not only my most anticipated release of 2016, but the entire year. I wanted this yesterday.

2. Burning Glass by Kathryn Purdie – Not gonna lie, this one came on my radar thanks to a Twitter retweet, in which the author used a picture from A Royal Affair to describe her book. SOLD. (Then I went to look it up on Goodreads, and yes, it appeals to my tastes).

3. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas – Because Rhysand was my favorite part of A Court of Thorn and Roses, and I think I ship him and Feyre. Their chemistry was hot! Bring on The Night Court and all of the sexiness I know it can give.

4. Banished by Kimberley Griffiths Little – I was surprised by my reaction to Forbidden in the best possible way. I loved the Mesopotamian location of this one, and the way in which the author was able to really throw me into the landscape. I formed a bond with the main character, Jayden, and have been looking forward to rejoining her, as well as hoping that her relationship with Kadesh develops more.

233080845. The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh – As someone who has been in love with the story of Sharazad since a young girl, The Wrath and the Dawn was one of those books that I had always wanted. And it met my expectations, completely. The romance in this is so perfectly done that I still can not get enough of it. I can’t wait to see how this duology ends.

6. When Falcons Fall by C.S. Harris – I just love the Sebastian St. Cyr series. This book will the eleventh, and I think this series is a good example of how to sustain a character’s longevity through development and the change of circumstances.

7. The Impostor Queen by Sarah Fine – This one is all over the book blogging community lately, and once I looked it up I began to feel the interest to read it and get involved in the conversation, too.

8. Stars Above by Marissa Meyer – I’m not sure its the entire book, per se. I think I am just eagerly anticipating that wedding, and I really hope the marriage is between the characters I want to read about!

9780399175411_OutrunTheMoon_BOM.indd9. Outrun the Moon by Stacey LeeUnder a Painted Sky was such a wonderful debut novel; I now have this author on my to-read list whenever she releases a new book. Historical fiction with diverse characters is such a needed addition to the YA world.

10. The Winds of Winter by George R.R. Martin – Because I won’t give up hope that he is finally going to publish this book this year!!

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #6: Most Anticipated Releases for the First Half of 2016

    • …I didn’t even think of that. I have had a feeling for a while that it is going to be released right before the new season of the show (which I don’t even watch anymore) starts and cause a frenzy.

  1. That cover for Outrun the Moon is so gorgeous! I seriously need to read Under A Painted Sky, and also something by SJ Maas because it seems that I’m the only one who hasn’t read anything of hers. XD

    • I really loved Under a Painted Sky, and I think you would too. How do you feel about love triangles? A Court of Thorns and Roses was the first Maas book I have ever read, mainly because I am so wary of love triangles and she apparently does those a lot.

Leave a Reply

