A Note of Reflection + Top Ten Books of 2015

It has become the custom around here for me to reflect on the year we are about to leave behind, and then name my Top Ten Books of the Year. So here we are, another year at cammminbookland completed, and me another year wiser.

I think that what I want to reflect upon in this year’s post is change and the journey. As I have said before, this year was a busy one for me: I finally obtained a job that I love, but I also kept a hold of my other one. Working two jobs was not only time consuming, it was exhausting; in the end, I was left with less time to read, as well as less energy for writing any sort of review once I finally finished a story. Thus priorities shifted: I began to only write reviews on some books, while jotting down a few thoughts for the rest.

I think that model worked well for me… After all, I still kept the conversation about books alive, which is why I began to blog in the first book. If I am to be honest with myself, however, it still feels as if something is missing. I want more conversation, more interaction with all of you. I looked at some of my old reviews and found that I missed that level of completion as there once was. But will I ever find that again? It was once so easy for me to tap into my review-writing mode and now it is much more difficult.

But I will try, and I thank all of you for sticking with me during this time of shifting priorities. If anything, a blog is a journey, and looking through mine I can so clearly see the rise and fall. Think of this as that lull in the story before the action picks up again. It will take some time to rediscover the groove of things. Still, my hope is to return better than ever before. Please continue to talk books with me. I love talking about them with you.

Now, without further delay, my Top Ten Books of 2015 (in no particular order):
1. Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
2. Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee
3. The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto by Mitch Albom
4. A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms by George R.R. Martin
5. The Martian by Andy Weir
6. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
7. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh
8. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
9. The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler
10. When a Scot Ties the Knot by Tessa Dare

2 thoughts on “A Note of Reflection + Top Ten Books of 2015

Leave a Reply

