Monthly Recap: December 2015

I’m a little late to the holiday wishes, though I hope that all of my readers have a wonderful season, and will have an even better new year ahead of them!

Here is a recap of all of the books I read in the month of December.

23437156Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – 4 out of 5 stars.
An excellent addition to the Grisha universe. I really enjoyed all of the characters and the heist they embarked on together. The twists kept me engaged and the end has me very ready for The Crooked Kingdom.

The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto by Mitch Albom – 5 out of 5 stars.

All the Stars in the Heavens by Adriana Trigiani – DNF
As someone who loves the previous work by this author, I am amazed by my reaction to her latest story. I thought this book was made for me, with my love of Old Hollywood, but I could not have been more wrong.
24723249The characters are so incredibly wooden. It’s as if since these are real people she couldn’t be bothered to give them personalities. The dialogue also went on forever; this isn’t a positive when the characters are so flat.
I hope Ms. Trigiani’s future books return to historical fiction or contemporary fiction about Italian Americans and families because that is where she excels with character, dialogue, setting, emotions, etc. I cannot recommend this story at all.

The Bronte Plot by Katherine Reay – DNF
Ironically, this story did not have much of a plot. Dull characters with a romance I was told about rather than shown did not help.

The Temptation of the Night Jasmine by Lauren Willig – 4 out of 5 stars.
This one could have received five stars, if the espionage had been more 3701590closely related to the overall plot of the Napoleonic War. Instead it was a strange novella-like spy story thrown into the mix.
On the other hand, everything else made this book great; I enjoyed it much more on this reread than my initial run. The humor is still there. But it’s the characters! Charlotte has quiet strength, which I adore. She is a romantic daydreamer like me. Readers who identify with Cress of The Lunar Chronicles will take to her very well.


The Adventuress
by Tasha Alexander
– 2.5 out of 5 stars.

 

Leave a Reply

