Review: Why Not Me?

22716447Title: Why Not Me?

Author: Mindy Kaling

Rating: ★★

Provided Synopsis: In Why Not Me?, Kaling shares her ongoing journey to find contentment and excitement in her adult life, whether it’s falling in love at work, seeking new friendships in lonely places, attempting to be the first person in history to lose weight without any behavior modification whatsoever, or most important, believing that you have a place in Hollywood when you’re constantly reminded that no one looks like you.

Review: Why not me, indeed. Or more like why am I the only one I know not connecting to this book?

I decided to read this on a lark, not knowing anything about Mindy besides who she is (as a celebrity), but being interested in one day watching her show. But maybe a memoir works better if you have some familiarity with the author?

As it stands, this book just was. The essays went from one to another. I wondered where the continuity was, along with questioning if this book had a concrete theme. Some moments are definitely funny. The essay I enjoyed the most was her telling of a failed love affair with one of Obama’s secret service agents; that is a fantasy I did not even know I had until I read it. Everything else in this book seemed to ramble on and I’m unsure I’ll remember any of her anecdotes a month from now.

4 thoughts on “Review: Why Not Me?

  1. I’ve been curious about Mindy’s writing, mostly because how popular her comedy seems to be. You may have a point though – a memoir may lose some of its power if you have little to no attachment to the author. That said, I’m not that familiar with Amy Poehler’s work and I still loved her book, so it might depend on the memoir too?

    • I can understand that with Amy’s because her memoir had some great advice in it. This one did not have much at all; it was more of her talking about her work routine, her body in the media spotlight, Hollywood problems…

      • Aaah I see. I’d be interested in what she says to say about the way the media is fixated on her shape, but work routine? That’s not so interesting.

  2. Pingback: Monthly Recap: January 2016 | cammminbookland

Leave a Reply

